"You´re not the only one!"
"Remove for You" will only delete the message from your side, so people wanting to permanently erase conversations from everyone in the chat will need to select the latter.
It is similar to one available to founder and chief executive Mark Zuckerberg, which was first discovered past year after several users reported messages they have received from the firm's boss had since disappeared.
Users can also remove messages just for yourself, you can do so anything by selecting "Remove for You". The feature is available now on both the iOS and Android apps. "Tapping 'remove for everyone" will permanently delete the message from your chat and the receiving party's chat.
The addition of this perennially requested feature doesn't come as a shock, as the release notes from a previous version of the app in November mentioned that it was officially in the works. You'll then be prompted to either "remove for everyone or "remove for you". This, after Facebook co-founder/CEO Mark Zuckerberg reportedly already had the Messenger unsend capability at his disposal, as pointed out by CNBC. A Facebook representative told us that it's still rolling out on the app stores and to give it some time.
Of course, there's a catch: it's limited to a small, 10-minute window. "Now the company is adjusting its bonus calculations to better reflect its updated goals", said a Fortune report. But be warned, like WhatsApp, everyone in the chat will be alerted that the message was removed.