AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award

The Latest: AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

Murray and Tagovailoa - who will meet in the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 31 - have always been the favorites to win the award, with both posting the highest QBRs in the FBS entering bowl season since ESPN began tracking the statistic in 2004 with 96.0 and 94.2 respectively.

Named the AP Player of the Year earlier Thursday, Murray leads the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7; FBS record is 198.9), yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and yards per completion (16.8, tied).

Next season, Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Georgia quarterback Jake Fromm could reasonably compete with Tagovailoa for college football's most coveted award.

On Saturday night, Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins will be in NY for the Heisman Trophy ceremony.

After the Big Ten title game, many wondered if Haskins would turn pro or remain with Ohio State. As a result, Murray is the fifth Sooner to take home the award, joining Sam Bradford (2008), White (2003, '04) and running back Billy Sims (1978).

Murray was Mayfield's backup last season and won the starter's job in preseason practice.

In a normal year, he'd be a shoo-in for the award.

Behind Murray, the University of Oklahoma has the top rated offense in the country, averaging over 8 yard per play.

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray has put together one of the greatest individual seasons in Sooners football history.

"We talked about just having your family out here, stuff like that, kind of soaking it all in and having fun with it", Murray said. He also added 190 yards and five more touchdowns on the ground, giving him the single-season school record for most combined touchdowns with 42.

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray, Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins have all emerged as frontrunners for the 2018 award.

Latest News