Phil Mickelson putting meltdown at U.S. Open is epic

Phil Mickelson reacts to a shot from the fescue on the fifth hole during Saturday’s third round of the U.S. Open

Phil Mickelson reacts to a shot from the fescue on the fifth hole during Saturday’s third round of the U.S. Open

Phil Mickelson's frustrations are getting the best of him at the U.S. Open to the point he hit a moving ball with his putter in the third round on Saturday in Southampton, N.Y.

The action by Mickelson was reminiscent of a similar incident at the 1999 U.S. Open at Pinehurst involving John Daly.

Phil Mickelson caused a social media storm and much discussion between fans, pundits and players when the multiple major champion decided to deliberately make a stroke at his moving ball on the 13th green at Shinnecock Hills on Saturday.

After taking eight strokes to get the ball in the hole he was indeed assessed a two-stroke penalty for a 10 on the hole.

During a third round which saw firm, fast conditions and some questionable pin positions send scores soaring, Mickelson admitted he deliberately hit a moving ball to gain an advantage.

"I think it's just one of them moments when you're not thinking about it, it just happens and he did it", said the burly Englishman, whose nickname is "Beef".

"I didn't mean it disrespectfully, but if you're going to take it that way, that's not on me", Mickelson told reporters.

"That's where we clarified that, Phil, you actually made a stroke at a moving ball, and so we have to apply that rule (14-5)".

"I didn't want to continue my (putting) display and I gladly took the two-shot penalty and moved on", he said.

"It's something you might see at your club with your mates".

"He joked about it right as we went down the first hole", Mickelson's Sunday playing partner Rickie Fowler said.

"Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates", Davis said, via Randall Mell of the Gold Channel. I did not feel like continuing going back and forth. But many people were so angered by the violation of the rules - and golf etiquette - that they called for his withdrawal from the tournament. "It was just a moment of madness but nothing disrespectful", the Briton said.

"When [players] do it, it's on a very large stage and there's so much immediate reaction on Twitter and social media, it can overwhelm", Amy Mickelson said. "I've wanted to do it many times before and finally did", said Mickelson. I said "I'm sorry, but I've got to laugh at this".

And I don't know if I would have been able to save a shot or whatnot.

Mickelson took a two-shot penalty for the infraction, then finished up for what was initially reported to be a quadruple bogey nine.

Phil Mickelson has explained his insane play in the third round of the US Open wasn't meant to offend anyone.

Latest News