Instagram 'Last Active' feature can be turned off using this button

Instagram just added a new feature you might want to turn off — here's how

Instagram 'Last Active' feature can be turned off using this button

Yesterday, we reported that Instagram is testing a new feature within the app, which will show the time stamp of when you were last active.

CREEPY... Instagram now has an "Activity Status" that tells you when your friends and followers "were last active on Instagram apps".

WhatsApp also enables users to turn off their activity status if they want to be more discreet.

If you don't know what we're talking about, Instagram has rolled out a new feature that will show your followers/contacts when you were last active on the app or if you're now active.

Now, for those who don't want that information up, there is a way to disable that feature.

We've asked Instagram for comment on whether it thinks the feature should be turned on by default, and how it plans to address users' privacy concerns.

Instagram has quietly come up with a new feature - Last Active - on iOS and Android that allows your friends to view when you were last active on the platform.

Instagram now lets users see when their friends last checked the app on their mobile device.

Facebook Stories, a separate Messenger app, etc., are some of the irritating features that nobody asked from Facebook. Then scroll down and toggle off on the "Show Activity Status".

Twitter user @emilysarpietro slammed the new feature, saying "nothing's private any more" and promising she would be "definitely coming off social media soon". If they are looking at a profile of someone who follows them but they don't follow, the profile will show "follow back" option instead of just 'follow'.

Now stalking has reached a whole new level, letting stalkers keep an eye on who is ignoring them or not on this app.

The unnerving feature appears on Instagram's direct messages section beneath followers you've been chatting with.

Latest News