Bayport-Blue Point HS earns prestigious National Blue Ribbon School designation

Students at St. Peter’s School in Waldorf celebrate during a Sept. 28 announcement that their school has been named as a 2017 National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education. CS

Slanesville Elementary earns top national honor

All five SC schools earned recognition in the Exemplary High Performing Schools category for their students' scores on state assessments or national standardized tests.

Neuqua Valley joins eight public and seven private schools in IL to be recognized as an Exemplary High Performing School.

The U.S. Department of Education has named Bloomington's Central Catholic High School a 2017 National Blue Ribbon School, one of just 25 in IL.

The education department will honor 292 public and 50 private schools on November 6-7 at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

The U.S. Department of Education designates national Blue Ribbon Schools annually.

She wrote to honorees, "You are visionaries, innovators and leaders".

Wildflower is one of five schools in the state on this year's list and the only one in the Pikes Peak region. National Blue Ribbon Schools are an inspiration and a model for schools still striving for excellence.

The award honors those schools - public, private and parochial - that go above and beyond to make learning interesting, inclusive and successful.

DeVos named 342 Blue Ribbon schools nationally for 2017.

"We could not be more proud of this recognition on behalf of St. Josaphat School", Principal Nel Mullens said.

"Leffingwell has an wonderful staff that has created a culture of keeping kids at the center of all we do, making school fun and engaging while maintaining high, rigorous expectations for every student", Leffingwell Principal Scott Blackwell said.

The schools are Kindred Elementary in Kindred; Longfellow Elementary in Fargo; and Legacy Elementary in West Fargo.

School officials will represent OUR LADY OF THE LAKE SCHOOL at a two-day awards ceremony in Washington, D.C., where they will hear from Secretary DeVos and other esteemed educators, share best practices with each other, and celebrate their hard-won achievements.

The Education Department nominates 13 public schools annually for the award in the Exemplary High Performing Schools category.

"The biggest thing for us is that we have unbelievable staff who build strong relationships with our kids and families", said Jason Reid, Pinon Hills Principal.

When preparing for the application, he said he asked teachers and staff brainstorm about all the programs and resources available to students.

Latest News