Chester teams up with Pokémon GO for heritage event

Pokemon GO News Anniversary Event COUNTDOWN Shiny Pikachu Update Special hat revealed

Niantic Pokemon GO News Anniversary Event COUNTDOWN Shiny Pikachu Update Special hat revealed

Pokemon Go developer Niantic has lifted the lid on the games upcoming Anniversary event.

From July 6 at 1:00 p.m. PT/4:00 p.m. ET/3 p.m. CT to July 24 at 1:00 p.m./4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT players will have the chance to catch special Pikachus wearing Ash Ketchum's iconic hat from the animated TV show.

The in-game shop will be selling Anniversary Boxes during that just over two week period. A big part of Pokémon GO is getting players to socialize, but there's also a danger involved in setting up one-on-one player interactions in the real world.

It's refreshing to see Hanke speak so candidly about Pokemon GO's launch woes, especially considering the relative lack of communication players were left to endure following its initial launch, and while Niantic's initial predicament meant delaying content fans have been hungering for over the a year ago, Hanke's comments go a long way in securing a bright outlook for Pokemon GO's future.

You can also now grab an Anniversary Box in the store, which showers you with incubators, max revives, ultra balls, and a raid pass. And just last month, Niantic said it will hold huge, in-person events for the biggest Pokemon Go fans.

There will even be activities based in Chester Castle, which is open to the public for the first time in 20 years.

For now, though, the focus is on the Ash Hat Pikachu and the Anniversary loot. Go and grab Pokemon GO from Google Play right now and get reacquainted.

Pokemon GO is out now for iOS and Android devices.

Latest News